WIP – Update #4 -and so it slowly goes

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Although seemingly forever,this painting is gaining ground.  Once I had completed the main floral and jar area, I “studied” the background for a while.  I was a bit nervous to just start painting because once you paint around the petal, there is often a paint edge.  This concerns me only because the area is so large – this is a full sheet painting!

So, I remember reading about a product a few months back. I was curious enough o order it ArtMask – adhesive backed masking film. The product says it will not release  and say on your painting, won’t wrinkle, bleed or flutter, great for watercolors.

Ooooh… nervously I bit the bullet. I traced around the jar and flowers with a permanent archival pen.  Used an Xacto knife and a quilting cutting board to trim it off and voila – the shape of my painting.

Tenderly and carefully I took the Art mask and gently placed it on the painting… what the?  Lifted it tenderly placed it again. Darn and darn. Apparently it sticks to itself and permanently!  Darn -no separating this. Had to cut another piece.  Placing it so tenderly on the painting –  it was, well…  “off”.  I believe it stretches out when you cut it. Read the product information Helen – it says maximum stretch for irregularly shaped surfaces – maybe that explains it.

Note to self – use smaller sections!

Once placed you are supposed to put a fine line of liquid frisket over the edges.  This takes time -and leaves a white edge you have to deal with.

If you look closely at the paintings, the flowers and vase look a bit on the dull side – that is because of the masking film.  I applied two coast of under painting allowing each one to dry completely before applying the other.  Then I easily removed the film.  Retouched the edges and began to complete the background.

Soon this WIP will be a painting complete.

Leave a comment

East Coast Mermaid

Helping you develop a coastal crush on New Brunswick

The Practical Art World

A guide for artists navigating the business side of the art world.

Song Birds In Wood

Fine Wood Carvings by Norrie Hill

David Ladmore

Paintings and Hand-Pulled Prints - Landscape and Figurative Art

Bitsy's Blog

Confessions of a struggling artist

jeanjoel spatafora

So here we are...

Ranjini V's

Colored Pencil Diary

tmflemingart

My Artistic Expression of Life with Cancer

scribedscribbles

Mostly my Photos and Found Poems

Art et Technique / Art and technics

Un peu de tout peinture, pastel, logiciel 3d et autres / A bit of everything painting, pastel, 3d softwares and a bit more

Donna Snyder

Coloring my world

Kings County Studio Tour

Dates for next year will be set in early 2023

Plugged In Work

Career and Workplace Success

The Fundy Gallery of Art

Saint John's Longest Running Artist's Cooperative