Commission – Just Delivered

Helen Shideler- Heather's Path

This painting is a commission from a girl I went to school with.  Because of certain “life happenings” that we sort of have in common,  she reached out to me to paint a special piece for a very special someone in her life.  This is quite an honor for me to have been able to work with her on this project.

She was very specific.  Although she did not realize it at the time, she really had a clear image of what she was looking for, in terms of how she wanted it to feel.  She just was unable to clearly articulate it at first.

We exchanged a number of emails.  I sent her almost every image I had ever taken of  paths in the woods one or two at a time.  This worked very well.  The feedback she shared as she reacted to the various photos helped me to narrow it down to a sense of colours and the overall feeling.

Then I began the work. Irises from my garden.  A Rhododendron from my garden and two from the internet.  The rail fence from a photo I had taken of the Irving Nature Park etc., etc,

She saw the painting today for the first time and she smiled from ear to ear.  It was exactly what she was hoping for. May I just say PHEW! I am so grateful and excited that she loves it and has confidence that the recipient of her very thoughtful gift will also love it!

I am anxiously awaiting the reaction.

 

Leave a comment

East Coast Mermaid

Helping you develop a coastal crush on New Brunswick

The Practical Art World

A guide for artists navigating the business side of the art world.

Song Birds In Wood

Fine Wood Carvings by Norrie Hill

David Ladmore

Paintings and Hand-Pulled Prints - Landscape and Figurative Art

Bitsy's Blog

Confessions of a struggling artist

jeanjoel spatafora

So here we are...

Ranjini V's

Colored Pencil Diary

tmflemingart

My Artistic Expression of Life with Cancer

scribedscribbles

Mostly my Photos and Found Poems

Art et Technique / Art and technics

Un peu de tout peinture, pastel, logiciel 3d et autres / A bit of everything painting, pastel, 3d softwares and a bit more

Donna Snyder

Coloring my world

Kings County Studio Tour

Dates for next year will be set in early 2023

Plugged In Work

Career and Workplace Success

The Fundy Gallery of Art

Saint John's Longest Running Artist's Cooperative