Update # 2 – Late August

8 Nov

After taking the cloudy sky to this point, I started to focus on the water.  I laid in the first wash and then worked specific areas to lighten some areas and deepen the horizon.  Confession: the level of detail in the water frightens me!  I almost did not know where to start.  I decided I had to make a decision to start somewhere.  I chose to start with the lower left corner of the water– that way I could focus  my attention on a specific area and begin to develop some detail and work outward from there.  It was a good decision as I could see where it was going.  Well, that worked for a while.  Then I got a little anxious and wanted to start pushing some paint around.  I had more fun painting the water in this manner.  I must have applied five layers of glazes.   Good to remember: Each glaze has to dry thoroughly before you apply the next – or the second glaze will lift off the first glaze.  Really not a good thing!

 

Then I looked to the foreground and decided to slop some paint around in this area. I knew I had to deepen the under painting.  So I played around in this space.  The next painting session I will focus on the grasses and fence.  Then I will go back into the water.  The overall painting is looking darker that it will be… this is part of that awkward stage 

Leave a Reply

Travelingcolors

Sharing Art Experiences, Inspiration, and Instruction

Rob Dreyer, AFC

Wildlife Artist

Song Birds In Wood

Fine Wood Carvings by Norrie Hill

David Ladmore

Paintings and Hand-Pulled Prints - Landscape and Figurative Art

Bitsy's Blog

Confessions of a struggling artist

jeanjoel spatafora

So here we are...

Ranjini V's

Colored Pencil Diary

tmflemingart

My Artistic Expression of Life with Cancer

scribedscribbles

Mostly my Photos and Found Poems

P2D Photography

Photography, Photoshop & Design

Redstreake

Licensed artist and watercolor addict who specializes in home decor art.

Art et Technique / Art and technics

Un peu de tout d'Autocad à la peinture et autres / A bit of everything from CAD to Art and more

Helen Shideler Fine Art

Painting a Colourful Life in Contemporary Realism

Donna Snyder

Coloring my world

Kings County Studio Tour 2018

Saturday, June 2nd & Sunday 3rd

Plugged In Work

Career and Workplace Success

