In living colour

6 May

As I soaked in the tub filled with epsom salts feeling quite refreshed, I contemplated by blog – thinking that I have somehow been neglectful. I have had an extremely busy spring.  Have had two wonderful trips – one to Alexandria Virgina for my other professional life and one to Vancouver for my real life.  The  Alexandria trip was for a Human Resources event (that I love) and Vancouver – for two of the loves of my life – my beautiful daughters!

So, with all this travel and work stuff and -oh, organizing the Kings County Studio Tour for a group of area artists and artisans,,, I have neglected my painting. And I don’t feel very good about it.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the other stuff – just not enough of me to accomplish all that I expect of me.

Tonight we are hosting a dinner club with a group of friends.  We  have been doing this for over 25 years!  We are using our grilling stones  and it is a surf and turf night… scallops…shrimp and strip loin steaks.   Served with asparagus, mushrooms, peppers, and little tomatoes. And dessert.. New York style cheesecake with sour cream glaze topped with fresh strawberries, strawberry coulis and whipping cream.  Decadent night!  So excited!  Love our friends!

So, while soaking in my tub I realized that I have identified myself with Blooming Colors… but really I am all about Living Colors. We are so much more that one word we think describes us.  I am grateful for my life, my husband, my daughters our blended family, friends, work and my alter ego – the painter.  The painter in me gives me permission to be a bit out there or excentric or to live what ever colours I want. Love this!

So, with where I am in life – I have to give myself permission to be here in the present and not feel guilty or that I should be doing something else or painting more or … you get the idea.  Painting is my life and so is my family equally important. And so is my other working life.  Pays the bills and so much more.  Now I can be practical!

2 Responses to “In living colour”

  1. Jillian HOlland May 9, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    Happy MOther’s Day, Helen! LOVE the Moist Chocolate Cake Painting!

  2. Daniela May 9, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Hi! I just visited your daughter’s blog! Happy to hear you’ve allowed yourself to be who you are – better late than never! Hope the surf n’ turf dinner was fun! Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

Travelingcolors

Sharing Art Experiences, Inspiration, and Instruction

Rob Dreyer, AFC

Wildlife Artist

Song Birds In Wood

Fine Wood Carvings by Norrie Hill

David Ladmore

Paintings and Hand-Pulled Prints - Landscape and Figurative Art

Bitsy's Blog

Confessions of a struggling artist

jeanjoel spatafora

So here we are...

Ranjini V's

Colored Pencil Diary

tmflemingart

My Artistic Expression of Life with Cancer

scribedscribbles

Mostly my Photos and Found Poems

P2D Photography

Photography, Photoshop & Design

Redstreake

Licensed artist and watercolor addict who specializes in home decor art.

Art et Technique / Art and technics

Un peu de tout d'Autocad à la peinture et autres / A bit of everything from CAD to Art and more

Helen Shideler Fine Art

Painting a Colourful Life in Contemporary Realism

Donna Snyder

Coloring my world

Kings County Studio Tour 2018

Saturday, June 2nd & Sunday 3rd

