WIP-Second Update- Past Their Prime

12 Feb

I have been working on this painting exclusively for over a month now. (Does it count as a diversion if this weekend I drew out two full sheet of mussel shells?  shhhh!)

And am pretty excited with my progress. I have done quite a bit of tweaking as I go along. I added in an other bloom at the bottom of the bouquet- the composition just “needed” it.  I decided to leave the concrete bench for now and get back to the flowers.  The drawing and is complex and often requires a bit more concentration than I feel like.  That is why I am moving all over this painting. I plan one finishing the flowers this week.

Focus Helen, focus!

5 Responses to “WIP-Second Update- Past Their Prime”

  1. Carrie Waller February 12, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous!!! Your hard work is paying off. I feel you pain, I did several hydrangea paintings and I just about went crazy with each little petal:) So beautiful, can’t wait to watch your progress!

  2. ruthsteinfatt February 12, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    I love the colours you are using… do you mind sharing what greens you use?

    • Helen Shideler February 12, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Four greens – all Windsor Newton- olive green, Sap green , green gold and prylene (spelling?) green. I play with them until I get the combination I need- also – will add paynes grey – if in the shadows….and quin gold to warm them up

  3. susanwall February 12, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    Omg, this is gorgeous!

    • Helen Shideler February 12, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      Thank you Susan – appreciate your vote of confidence! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Travelingcolors

Sharing Art Experiences, Inspiration, and Instruction

Rob Dreyer, AFC

Wildlife Artist

Song Birds In Wood

Fine Wood Carvings by Norrie Hill

David Ladmore

Paintings and Hand-Pulled Prints - Landscape and Figurative Art

Bitsy's Blog

Confessions of a struggling artist

jeanjoel spatafora

So here we are...

Ranjini V's

Colored Pencil Diary

tmflemingart

My Artistic Expression of Life with Cancer

scribedscribbles

Mostly my Photos and Found Poems

P2D Photography

Photography, Photoshop & Design

Redstreake

Licensed artist and watercolor addict who specializes in home decor art.

Art et Technique / Art and technics

Un peu de tout d'Autocad à la peinture et autres / A bit of everything from CAD to Art and more

Helen Shideler Fine Art

Painting a Colourful Life in Contemporary Realism

Donna Snyder

Coloring my world

Kings County Studio Tour 2018

Saturday, June 2nd & Sunday 3rd

