WIP – Dorey Dinghy Tender

20 Nov

Well, I can’t help myself. I am hooked. I love the freedom of pouring paint. And I have another watercolor technique I am going to explore after this painting.

This past summer, my husband Gary and I went to Bar Harbour. I needed a break and a change of scenery to get my creative juices going again. We went there for a break – but mainly so I could shoot tons of stuff to paint. And shoot I did. I imprinted scenes in my mind and am so excited to get painting all of them!

 
And so, in the near future, you will see paintings of boats, coastal scenes and seagulls.  Likely lots of seagulls.  And lots of ducks!
This drawing of this took quite a while as boats are tricky as the best of times. I sketched this work out loosely, then went back in to tighten things up.   Once this first pour is dry, I will go back in with a cerulean mixture (I think).  Stay tuned… more to follow soon
3 Responses to “WIP – Dorey Dinghy Tender”

  1. ruthsteinfatt November 20, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    I have done a few poured paintings and they are so much fun.. messy but fun! I had Jan Wallake give a workshop here “Watercolors Pour it On” and it was amazing. Here is a blog of a local artist here that pours… I know you will enjoy it. http://leslieredheadart.blogspot.com

    • Helen Shideler November 20, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

      Thank you Ruth

      I went to visit her blog – love what I saw and am now following Jan’s blog as well. You are so right – this is messy stuff – and I am loving it!

  2. Jennifer Hill (@foodessdotcom) November 21, 2011 at 1:37 am #

    It’s great already!

Leave a Reply

Travelingcolors

Sharing Art Experiences, Inspiration, and Instruction

Rob Dreyer, AFC

Wildlife Artist

Song Birds In Wood

Fine Wood Carvings by Norrie Hill

David Ladmore

Paintings and Hand-Pulled Prints - Landscape and Figurative Art

Bitsy's Blog

Confessions of a struggling artist

jeanjoel spatafora

So here we are...

Ranjini V's

Colored Pencil Diary

tmflemingart

My Artistic Expression of Life with Cancer

scribedscribbles

Mostly my Photos and Found Poems

P2D Photography

Photography, Photoshop & Design

Redstreake

Licensed artist and watercolor addict who specializes in home decor art.

Art et Technique / Art and technics

Un peu de tout d'Autocad à la peinture et autres / A bit of everything from CAD to Art and more

Helen Shideler Fine Art

Painting a Colourful Life in Contemporary Realism

Donna Snyder

Coloring my world

Kings County Studio Tour 2018

Saturday, June 2nd & Sunday 3rd

