WIP – Longing For Spring

1 May

And so I recently started this painting – had it sketched out for quite awhile.  But finally decided to jump and start painting.  My family is making fun of me for painting snow in the spring.  Two things, first I should really be motivated to finish it in record time and second – this spring has been so gosh darn cold – I feel like painting snow.

These are the Adirondack chairs under our side verandah.  I love these chairs and the verandah.  There is a swing off closer to the concrete retaining wall.  This area is our southern exposure – we spend a lot of time there in the spring and fall and on windy days.

When I was painting our clapbords, I realized that our whole house needs to be painting – unfortunately, I do not mean on canvas!  As I started adding in details like the knots and the greenish ting to the gray I realized that while these details may make for a good painting – they do not say this is a well kept house.   Painting the house will have to be a project for next spring.

I started to block in the second window – and have the perspective off – will correct that in the next session. The deck is covered with snow, as are the arms, seats adn the backs of teh chairs.  Once I have the background right – I will start into the snow.

This is a large acrylic painting 36 x 42.

One Response to “WIP – Longing For Spring”

  1. NoviceArtist May 2, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Good job as a work in progress. Our spring has been cool too.

Leave a Reply

Travelingcolors

Sharing Art Experiences, Inspiration, and Instruction

Rob Dreyer, AFC

Wildlife Artist

Song Birds In Wood

Fine Wood Carvings by Norrie Hill

David Ladmore

Paintings and Hand-Pulled Prints - Landscape and Figurative Art

Bitsy's Blog

Confessions of a struggling artist

jeanjoel spatafora

So here we are...

Ranjini V's

Colored Pencil Diary

tmflemingart

My Artistic Expression of Life with Cancer

scribedscribbles

Mostly my Photos and Found Poems

P2D Photography

Photography, Photoshop & Design

Redstreake

Licensed artist and watercolor addict who specializes in home decor art.

Art et Technique / Art and technics

Un peu de tout d'Autocad à la peinture et autres / A bit of everything from CAD to Art and more

Helen Shideler Fine Art

Painting a Colourful Life in Contemporary Realism

Donna Snyder

Coloring my world

Kings County Studio Tour 2018

Saturday, June 2nd & Sunday 3rd

